Category: Gordon Jones Trophy
Published: Sunday, 19 April 2015
Written by Super User




This award is presented to the best Demon player on field when Dees come to play in Perth.  If there are two games then 2 medallions are presented.

The winner of the award also receives a short note about Gordon and his attributes with Melbourne Football Club and Western Demons.


 Gordon joined Melbourne Football Club from Maryborough (Victoria) in 1935, his career being terminated in 1940 on joining the A.I.F.

 He played Centre Half Back in 2 winning Grand Finals in 1939/40 and represented his Club on 2 occasions in interstate matches and was third in the Brownlow Medal count in 1938.

Gordon was a Players’ Representative to the tribunal for some years and was also President of the Former Players’ Association for 5 years.

He became a Life Member of the Melbourne Football Club in 1947 and was an active Demon Supporter for many years.

He came to live in Perth and became a member of the Eagles Premiers Club but still was a keen Demon Supporter.

He was a foundation member of the Western Demons which is the W.A. Supporter Group of the Melbourne Football Club and remained on the committee until he became ill at the beginning of 1999.

Gordon became Patron of the Western Demons, an honour bestowed on him at the Group’s Annual General Meeting held in January 1996, until his death in December 1999.

 This trophy lives on in Gordon’s memory.







26/04/1996 Craig Turley Fremantle
25/08/1996 Jeff Farmer West Coast
10/05/1997 James McDonald Fremantle
15/08/1997 David Neitz West Coast
29/03/1998 Jim Stynes Fremantle
28/06/1998 James McDonald West Coast
3/07/1999 Andrew Leoncelli West Coast
8/04/2000 Shane Woewoddin Fremantle
6/08/2000 Adem Yze West Coast
5/05/2001 Brad Green Fremantle
1/07/2001 Nathan Brown West Coast
18/05/2002 Matthew Whelan Fremantle
18/08/2002 Travis Johnstone West Coast
24/08/2003 Russell Robertson West Coast
6/06/2004 Peter Vardy Fremantle
280/8/2004 Nathan Brown West Coast
24/07/2005 Jeff White Fremantle
28/05/2006 James McDonald West Coast
23/07/2006 Nathan Carroll Fremantle
20/05/2007 Travis Johnstone West Coast
25/08/2007 Award Not Presented Fremantle
20/08/2008 Cameron Bruce Fremantle
10/05/2009 Brent Moloney West Coast
18/07/2010 James Frawley Fremantle
28/04/2011 Colin Garland West Coast
07/04/2012 Nathan Jones West Coast
01/09/2012 Jack Grimes Fremantle
26/05/2013 Jeremy Howe Fremantle
23/08/2014 Bernie Vince West Coast
30/08/2015 Daniel Cross Fremantle
 23/07/2016 Nathan Jones & Max Gawn ( equal )   West Coast 
24/06/2017 Jack Viney West Coast

Support Our Local Sponsors

sponsor1         sponsor2         sponsor3.png    sponsor4    sponsor5